.30-06 Min max Load differences

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your long gun.
norcal31
My Press Choice: Single Stage

.30-06 Min max Load differences

Post by norcal31 »

Hi, I am brand new to reloading. My press is in the mail but I have the rest of the basics. I have been reading a lot of information everywhere I can. Today I bought some hornady 150 gr sp interlocks and H380 powder. My lyman manual gives a min-max of 48-53 grains, the load sheet that came with my Lee dies said 53-59. That seems like a really big spread to me. I want to start low and work up but I'm not sure where to start.
akuser47
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter

Re: .30-06 Min max Load differences

Post by akuser47 »

What are the bullets the manauls are listing with those ranges.
Live Free,Ride Free, Or Die Fighting, For The Right, To do So!
62chevy
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Turret

Post by 62chevy »

If you look at page 223 of the Lyman 49th Edition you will see under test components the 150 grain SP is the the Hornady part number 3031. Lee is most likely using a different bullet. If you are using the Hornady #3031 then go with Lyman. If not then maybe RD or someone can help with quick loads.
Je suis Charlie
norcal31

Post by norcal31 »

I am using the 3031 listed in lyman. The lee paperwork just lists 150gr jacketed bullet, no other specifics. I was going to use the lyman data because it starts lower, it just threw me how far apart they were
357cyrus
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by 357cyrus »