Primer problems

The Pro 1000, 4000, and the Six-Pack Pro presses. We also include the "Legacy" progressive presses; the Load-Master, Auto Breech Lock Pro
BillS
My Press Choice: Progressive

Primer problems

Post by BillS »

Hi,

I'm not new to handloading , but I am new to a progresive loader. I purchased a 6 pack pro loader in 44 cal. I'm loading 44mag. Starline brass, winchester primers. I've got things going pretty well, with the exception of the primer feed. It's what I think is the new style feeder. It folds in half.
The primers keep catching in the chute. The shaker pin is hitting the post, and I can't see any rough spots in the chute, but intermittently the primers jam. I keep the tray full. Anyone have any hints?

Thanks BillS
Bill Moore

Re: Primer problems

Post by Bill Moore »

I'm having the same problems, BillS, I saw a you tube where the fellow cut a piece of ball point pen refill, and slipped it over the rod that contacts the bar. He said new rods are made larger on that side, I cut a piece of wire insulation and slipped it over mine, it helps, but I still keep a close eye on the primer trough! I plan to order some spares for the machine, and intend to ask Lee about the trough rod.
I've loaded about 1000 rds now, and only flipped one primer sideways!
BillS

Post by BillS »

I saw that one too. I have the later model with a larger shaker wire. So It's already the size with the pen tube. I loaded 100 rounds this morning. What is happening is the primers get stuck in the upper chamber. If I keep an eye on it so the chute stays full, every thing works good. I'm developing my own cadence . When you feel the primer seat, I place a bullet, repeat . Kind of semi automatic. It takes watching , but it works. I don't know if a more costly press would work better, or just cost more. I feel like the "better" press would need less baby sitting. Anyway, it's mine now.
Fyodor
Founding Member & Supporter

Post by Fyodor »