Prepping A Barrel For Cast Bullets?

Share your projects and problem solving with other forum members! New sub-forum for 3D printer projects for your reloading needs.
Mike 56
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Prepping A Barrel For Cast Bullets?

Post by Mike 56 »

I am fairly new to cast bullets in center fire rifles. What I did with my Moslin Nagants was cleaned out all the copper I could with Hopes Elite. Then I put some chrome polish in the chamber and polished the barrel with a bore snake. I now want to start shooting cast bullets in my model 94 Winchester. I have not shot it much only about a hundred rounds of jacketed bullets. What is the best way to prep a rifle for cast bullets?
Maximumbob54
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Turret

Re: Prepping A Barrel For Cast Bullets?

Post by Maximumbob54 »

Buy some actual copper fouling remover and use it. Something with ammonia in it and make sure you use it right. It would be best to slug the bore to see what you are working with as far as what the bullets will need to be sized. They are supposed to be .312" but I've read of them being .314" with wear or maybe rushed war time production. You might surf the CastBoolits forum as you are far from the first to do this. You won't be able to use a regular .308" bullet mold unless you really work hard at opening it up a bunch. Usually cast in a rifle shoots best with heavy for caliber loads. Usually, but not always. But as far as just prepping the barrel you don't want a single molecule of copper left behind.
62chevy
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by 62chevy »

I second the castboolits idea!!! Here is the link http://castboolits.gunloads.com/

Read and enjoy, great stuff there.
Je suis Charlie
Mike 56
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by Mike 56 »