Lee 4-20 Pot - on the way to me

Precision Melter, Magnum Melter, Production Pot IV, and Pro 4-20
JohnnyEnfield
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Lee 4-20 Pot - on the way to me

Post by JohnnyEnfield »

It is finally happening. The Lee 4-20 pot was ordered a few days ago and is now on the way to me. I was having a hard time committing to it as my first pot, since I am new to casting, but decided to just go for it. I have a long list of things I would LIKE to have but for now I will be casting TL358- 158SWC bullets and tumble lubing them. I believe the 45-45-10 method will work. Will buy a .452 230 RN mold soon too.

I ordered a .358 sizer too but then read somewhere that the TL bullets don't get put through the sizer? I will figure it all out when it gets here. I have other .358 bullets I want to cast in the future anyway. I will be starting with range scrap ingots so I hope they work well enough. Thank you to everyone here for your advice and guidance. You guys have the best attitudes and best advice around.

Johnny
Reduce, reuse, recycle, means- resize, reload, recycle.
larryw
Founding Member & Supporter
Founding Member & Supporter

Re: Lee 4-20 Pot - on the way to me

Post by larryw »

:t +corn
A day late & A dollar short? Story of my life +guns
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

Post by Ranch Dog »

JohnnyEnfield wrote: I ordered a .358 sizer too but then read somewhere that the TL bullets don't get put through the sizer? I will figure it all out when it gets here.
I run all my tumble lube designs through a Lee sizer. If you don't, you will foul your bullet seating die pretty darn quick with the lube that is shaved off by the case mouth.
Michael
JohnnyEnfield
Supporter
Supporter

Post by JohnnyEnfield »

Thank you for the reply, I am glad I ordered the Lee sizer. I am already thinking of all the different molds I want to try. Some nice weather coming my way next week, so should be able to get casting outside.