480 Ruger & TLC478-375-RF

Using your home cast bullets as a ammunition component. Group buys are listed here.
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

480 Ruger & TLC478-375-RF

Post by Ranch Dog »

357cyrus wrote:Not much for introductions, but hello to all. I've been loading for several years now and discovered a hobby I truly enjoy. Thanks in advance to all who share here.
Thanks for participating Cyrus. DId you ever get your sizing die from Buckshot?
Michael
357cyrus
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Turret

Re: 480 Ruger & TLC478-375-RF

Post by 357cyrus »

Ranch Dog wrote: DId you ever get your sizing die from Buckshot?

Yes, got it back earlier than I thought I would. I think it sizes perfectly, but its my first time sizing, so that doesn't really say much! I should be loading charges with 2400 this week, and maybe shoot the next. The only concern I have is when I tried to load 3 dummy rounds, case mouths kept shaving lead from the bullets. Each time I belled a little more with the expander die but didn't fix it with those 3 before time ran out that night. Never really had to bell anything out that much so just seemed strange. Also, I think I remember you mentioning that you have a Super Redhawk in 480. If so, do bullets sized to .478 fit your SRH? Mine looks like it might need a little attention from a gunsmith to make that happen.
*** Peace Through Superior Firepower ***
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ranch Dog »

357cyrus wrote:The only concern I have is when I tried to load 3 dummy rounds, case mouths kept shaving lead from the bullets. Each time I belled a little more with the expander die but didn't fix it with those 3 before time ran out that night. Never really had to bell anything out that much so just seemed strange.