Shotshell primers, DIY

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your scattergun; be it buckshot, shot, or slugs.
mikld
Founding Member & Supporter
Founding Member & Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Shotshell primers, DIY

Post by mikld »

I'm often curious especially when I don't have much to keep me busy. I'm still learning shotshell reloading and I just sized and deprimed about a dozen Win AA hulls. I looked at one of the primers I poked out and being curious, I took it apart. The primer cup looked familiar (a shotshell primer is in fact a self contained Berdan type primer). I measured one and it is the same diameter as a large pistol primer. Hmmm, I straightened out the anvil, inserted it in the battery cup, put a Winchester LP primer on top of the anvil/cup and seated it in the priming stage of my Load All. It looked good and it was sorta difficult to tell from a new 209 primer. Well, I seated "my" primer in a sized/deprimed hull and stuck it in my shotgun. Yep, it fired! I don't think I'd try one with a load because the flash hole end is open, and possibly powder could migrate into the primer and cause trouble (I read somewhere that this was problem until all shotshell primers started using a "closed" flash hole, a "primer hole cover"). Now this was just a silly experiment, but I guess in a really bad SHTF situation one could jerry-rig usable shotshell primers. I don't plan on "reloading" any 209 primers, it was just a "I wonder if..." exercise.
RBHarter
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Re: Shotshell primers, DIY

Post by RBHarter »

Lots of stuff that can be done . Probably some of it that shouldn't be done but we probably will anyway .