Case Prep using Loadmaster

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your long gun.
killian6pk
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Progressive

Case Prep using Loadmaster

Post by killian6pk »

I am new to reloading, but it seems to me that this process especially rifle cartridges is the most labor intensive process. In watching video's about this process a person handles a case through at least 8-9 steps. Inspecting, deprime, clean (however you do that, wet tumbling adds a couple extra steps), resize, trim, debur, chamfer, inspect, and I am probably missing one or two steps. All that before powder, bullet seating and crimping. That is with just one cartridge. So each case is handled or sent through the process at least 12-13 steps. Multiply that by even just 200 cases and that's 2400 steps. I am starting to think this reloading thing is not worth it. Oh, forgot checking powder drop and primer seating. If you are reloading 500 - 1000 cases and then a pistol caliber or two then we might be talking upwards of 10,000 individual steps. My new Loadmaster is due to arrive today. I am starting to think maybe I should just send it back. That does not even take into consideration the cost of powder, bullets primers and other items (die sets) etc. I maybe shoot 200 rounds a month (my new 1911 will eat a few more) between my 9mm and .223 and I don't have a range close by (rifle about 15 miles away and indoor pistol about 25 miles away). The range situation really limits the time I have to shoot. I am retired (part time job).

Someone tell me I am wrong and talk me off the ledge.
larryw
Founding Member & Supporter
Founding Member & Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Re: Case Prep using Loadmaster

Post by larryw »

Actually, your right but, you have to consider some of the prep operations
are a "one time" thing for the life of the brass. The other things just sort of