What do you think of my 9mm load Data

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
sonic306090
My Press Choice: Turret

What do you think of my 9mm load Data

Post by sonic306090 »

Hello,

I've been reloading for a couple of months on my Lee Value Turret Press with the Lee Auto powder Drum

I am loading for 9mm

1) Mixed Wet cleaned Brass
2) CCI 500 Primers
3) CFE Pistol Powder
4) Xtreme 124 Gran HP Copper Plated Bullets

My Recipe

5.1 Grains of CFE Pistol/ OAL 1.080

My Question: Is this a good formula? Is 1.080 aa safe OAL?
Thank you for any advice!
Mark 9mm
RBHarter
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Re: What do you think of my 9mm load Data

Post by RBHarter »

As long as it's what you worked up in your gun .

Autos first and foremost have to cycle clean no tail to feed , no short strokes and stove pipes .
Second is little groups .
If that works out then imparted energy to the target can have a shot at it .
At least that's my method and it has so far done right by me .
Just a Red neck,White boy, Blue blood American.....
mikld
Founding Member & Supporter

Post by mikld »

Where did you get your data? 5.1 is max for a 125 gr jacketed and 5.5 is max for a plated 124 gr RN. I have always used cast lead data for all plated bullets I've tried and always began a load work up with manual starting loads...
sonic306090

Post by sonic306090 »

I have a Lee Manual and a Hogdson updated reloading magazine, I also went online to look for data.
I determined that the best starting load was 4.9 grains of CFE Pistol and 5.5 was the max load.
Then it being an HP so it's shorter than an RN, I went online and found 1 article that read " Xtreme 124 Grain Hp Copper Plated Bullets recommend an OAL of 1.060, So I determined to be safe and do my OAL 1.075.