Do 44-40 WCF Cases need case lube for re-sizing?

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
Royce
My Press Choice: Turret

Do 44-40 WCF Cases need case lube for re-sizing?

Post by Royce »

So I purchased a toy with my stimulus check. I also bought Lee carbide dies and Factory Crimp die. In the Lee die box came a small sample of "Case Lube". This got me wondering, does a spent 44-40 round need to be lubed before resizing? I've been reloading pistol cartridges for 30+ years using Lee carbide dies and this would be the first time to use lube.

I recognize that the 44-40 cases have a slight bottleneck so maybe that would explain the need to lube?

Picture of new one:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
2 X Lee Classic Turret Presses, 3 X Lee 1000 Presses, 1 X Lee Reloader Press, 1X Lee Six Pack Pro, 1X Ultimate Turret
Ohio3Wheels
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Re: Do 44-40 WCF Cases need case lube for re-sizing?

Post by Ohio3Wheels »

I would probably put a dab on every 3rd or 4th case. I'm actually kinda curious how they make a carbide die for a bottle neck case. I've always found a little lube doesn't hurt even with carbide.

Stay well, be safe, make smoke,
Curt.......makin' smoke and raising my carbon foot print one cartridge at a time +guns +guns
larryw
Founding Member & Supporter
Founding Member & Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Post by larryw »

A little dab will do 'ya... I agree, every few cases run a lubed one, the sizing seems
a bit smoother & easier. Sure doesn't hurt, but just a dab...
A day late & A dollar short? Story of my life +guns
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

Post by Ranch Dog »

larryw wrote:A little dab will do 'ya... I agree, every few cases run a lubed one, the sizing seems
a bit smoother & easier. Sure doesn't hurt, but just a dab...
The above or a light coat of the Lee Lube and Isopropyl alcohol mix.