Plated Bullets

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
horseman
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Plated Bullets

Post by horseman »

There was a bit of talk in another thread about plated bullets. Some good info some not so good. This is a plug for RMR (Rocky Mt. Reloading) plated bullets as much as anything. I've been shooting them (9mm) for a couple years and find them to be a very good bullet. They are advertised as a lead core of 11 to 12BHN, which is harder (AFAIK) than any other on the market, plus their plating is .012 to .014 inches thick. This is close to twice as heavy as any other also. They are also advertised as being as close to "match grade" as possible. Check their website for the process they use to achieve this. It is also said their bullets can be "pushed" as high as 1500fps. Their prices are very competetive as well. I have no connection or deal in any way (other than what I buy and use) with RMR so this is just a satisfied customer mentioning what I consider a superior product. For those of you who have disdain for plated bullets, for whatever reason, should know that the Speer Gold Dot HP which is one of the favorite bullets for self defense, (what I carry) IS a plated bullet. If you've not had good luck using plated bullets give these a try, you may change your mind. +guns
larryw
Founding Member & Supporter

Re: Plated Bullets

Post by larryw »

Thanks Horseman, ill be checking out RMR as I do like the thicker jackets (plating
A day late & A dollar short? Story of my life +guns
daboone
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by daboone »

Ditto the above. Do they make any for rifle?

Larry I'm still depending on you firing up the pot and getting busy now the we have an unlimited source of lead.
An ignorant person is one who doesn't know what you have just found out.