9mm 115g rnl

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
Fredxdm
My Press Choice: Progressive

9mm 115g rnl

Post by Fredxdm »

Hello all. New here today. I have a question regarding 115g rnl reloading. I have been reloading with a Lee Pro 1000 for 20+ years. I mainly shot my 9mm reloads out of a Baretta 92 or a Sig 226. I recently purchased a Springfield XD Model 2. My rnl reloads fail to go completely into battery. If I pull out the barrel and drop one in it is about 1/16” from seating flush. I have checked and re-checked everything with my dial calipers. Am I missing something or is the XD just a picky eater? By the way,115g fmj reloads are just fine. Any ideas?
akuser47
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Re: 9mm 115g rnl

Post by akuser47 »

are your reloads length within saami spec? Just curious is all I am not expert on this just first thought I had. What are your specs.? I know lots of lead rounds I shoot in my 357 the bullet is longer and in some cases it has gotten in my way of function.
Live Free,Ride Free, Or Die Fighting, For The Right, To do So!
Fredxdm

Post by Fredxdm »

Thanks for replying. Yes, they are within spec. I have even shortened them up quite a bit with no better result. I can run a case through the process, leave out the bullet, and the case seats in the barrel fine so it’s not a case sizing issue. I’m wondering if I should try a bullet sizer.
mr surveyor
Founding Member
Founding Member
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Post by mr surveyor »

my first question is .... what is your component bullet's diameter

second question ... are you closing the loaded round case mouth with a crimp die?

Unless your XD barrel is out of spec or there's a re-loading issue, I can't think of anything else ... especially with 115 gr bullets ....

jd
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------