Multiple bullet weights per caliber?

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
GRV01
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Multiple bullet weights per caliber?

Post by GRV01 »

So anyone familiar with my whining and constant questions knows im still new to reloading but now im thinking of picking up two different bullet weights for 357, 158gr which im now reloading and possibly 125gr for plinking in 38SP power loads

Part of me thinks 'neat, flexibility!' buy another is 'boo, more cost and complexity'

So experienced reloaders whats your SOP, do you typically have more than one bullet weight for your favorite calibers?
No thin chicks
Currently reloading .357 Magnum and .38 Special
farmerjim
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Re: Multiple bullet weights per caliber?

Post by farmerjim »

Yes. For 9 mm and 38 sp most are the lee 358-125-RF , but I also load jacketed HP and other cast bullets in both of them. The 357 mag gets everything from the 125 gr up to 200 gr. The 200 gr is in a 38 sp case, It is seated long, and will not chamber in a 38. I do not lube most of my bullets, but powder coat or Hi-Tek them.
I use different colors to easily ID them.
Fyodor
Founding Member & Supporter
Founding Member & Supporter
My Press Choice: Progressive

Post by Fyodor »

I use different bullets (weight and lube) for my .38 spl nitro and blackpowder loads. One reason for me was that I can easily identify single rounds as nitro or BP loads. The other was, that Moly isn't a good lube for black powder.

When you have specific seating dies set up for every bullet, you don't have to readjust every time. Then it's actually not complicated at all. If you place one finished sample/inert round to every seating die, you can't even mix them up.
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"
- Evelyn Beatrice Hall, often misattributed to Voltaire

I think I'm thinking, therefore I may possibly be.
daboone