Another Newbie Q, 9mm Luger Bullseye Data

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
chacam
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Another Newbie Q, 9mm Luger Bullseye Data

Post by chacam »

Please forgive my ignorance:

I had heard that Bullseye powder was one of the most popular powders to use, but looking at the new Lee book for 9mm, there are over 8 pages of loads and not a one uses Bullseye?

And, I noticed that the difference in charges for example 124 gr lead vs 124 gr jacketed, there might be as much as 5 grains difference in charges with the same powder. Seems like if the bullet weight was the same, the charge would be the same?

As I mentioned, I am new at this and haven't started reloading yet, just want to understand as much as I can before I begin.

Thanks ! !
Last edited by chacam on 14 Sep 2018 06:38, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Retitled to help with "Similar Topic" search at bottom of page
GasGuzzler
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Re: Another Newbie Q, 9mm Luger Bullseye Data

Post by GasGuzzler »

I load 9mm with Bullseye. Mine is at the top or over max but is also loaded long to reach the rifling in my P95.

Look at more than one manual.
__________________________________________________________________________________________
I've always been crazy but it's kept me from goin' insane.
farmerjim
Supporter
Supporter

Post by farmerjim »

Welcome
In general Cast bullets are slicker than jacketed and do not build up the same pressure for the same weight.
All the powder company's have free loading data. Here is the link for alliants 2017 manual. It has some bullseye loads.

http://www.alliantpowder.com/resources/ ... Powder.pdf

Everybody has their favorite loads that work well in their gun. This is why most reloaders do it. To get the most out of their gun. All are a little different, you find out what works best with your gun.