Load Master Priming Issues

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
RickM57
My Press Choice: Progressive

Load Master Priming Issues

Post by RickM57 »

To start off I am a newbie. I just got my loader about 2 months ago and have watched about every video imaginable on setup and tweaks. Now that I have it running smooth, I keep getting primer jams or bullets with no primer at all spilling powder out the hole. It is really getting old. I have loaded about 100 rounds and had at least 25 wiasted because there is no primer. Any ideas?
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Load Master Priming Issues

Post by Ranch Dog »

Welcome to the forum and the Load Master ;)

In that you are new to reloading and the press, I would kind of break things down into steps. Start by priming your brass off the press and setting the bullets onto the cases by hand. Once you run a batch of ammo successfully without any issues, work on the bullet feeder (it sounded as though you are using it).

On press priming is the biggest issue with the Load Master and it is very well documented as being so. There doesn't seem to be one set fix that is guaranteed to address the issue with your press or any press for that matter. You just never know what is going to correct it. I have three of these presses; they all have primer seating issues but not one is the same as the other. Honestly, I haven't messed with mine as of late because I've little time but when I do they just seem to suck the life right out of me. It appears that the issues are resolved but the next time I walk up to the press to reload, there always seems to be another issue.
Michael
Fyodor
Founding Member & Supporter

Post by Fyodor »

Herzlich willkommen!

As Michael said, it isn't uncommon for LoadMaster-users to prime off press. I know of two presses that work reliably including priming, but far more who gave up on priming on press.