Mixed Brass head stamps

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your handgun.
jayfury007
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Mixed Brass head stamps

Post by jayfury007 »

I am new to reloading was wondering if mixed head stamps brass 9mm cases was ok to reload or does it matter if they are all same head stamp plz educate me ty
akuser47
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Re: Mixed Brass head stamps

Post by akuser47 »

For extreme accuracy it matters to have as much be consistent as possible Like weighing your cases sorting them by manufacturer and weighing your projectiles and sorting into batches, but for general plinking it doesn't matter. I would suggest that if it is nato brass be careful as some I've loaded seemed to have thicker case walls but in most cases it still doesn't matter. The nato brass can change the inernal volume and also change the pressure this only matters if shooting hot loads. Been a long time since Ive seen current nato cases to compare.
Live Free,Ride Free, Or Die Fighting, For The Right, To do So!
daboone
Founding Member
Founding Member

Post by daboone »

akuser47 wrote:For extreme accuracy it matters to have as much be consistent as possible Like weighing your cases sorting them by manufacturer and weighing your projectiles and sorting into batches, but for general plinking it doesn't matter. I would suggest that if it is nato brass be careful as some I've loaded seemed to have thicker case walls but in most cases it still doesn't matter. The nato brass can change the inernal volume and also change the pressure this only matters if shooting hot loads. Been a long time since Ive seen current nato cases to compare.