Powder coating

Using your home cast bullets as a ammunition component. Group buys are listed here.
Longcarbine
My Press Choice: Progressive

Powder coating

Post by Longcarbine »

Thinking of powder coating some 160gr cast bullets to load in .44 special, do you think I will need to gas check them. I have never shot or reloaded cast bullets and I have no experience with gas checks or powder coating.
"The reason a dog has so many friends,He wags his tail instead of his tongue."

"I don't always listen to Black Sabbath,But when I do so do the neighbors"
farmerjim
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Re: Powder coating

Post by farmerjim »

If it is a gas check bullet it will probably shoot better with a check on it, but it is not required. I recommend the shake and bake method of powder coating. Be sure to cure the powder for at least the minimum time.
Some powders work better than others and some do not work at all.
Ohio3Wheels
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Post by Ohio3Wheels »

Experience from my first run a doing PC. You want a very thin coasting of powder before baking, Otherwise thee coating runs and you get flange bullets. Number 2 Harbor Freight powders are inexpensive for a reason, at least in the case of thee yellow, mine came out more orange than yellow. I wish I had installed the gas checks before coating, but that may a function of the thick coat. I will try again with the addition of the Airsoft beads to increase the static.

Mak smoke,
Curt.......makin' smoke and raising my carbon foot print one cartridge at a time +guns +guns
larryw
Founding Member & Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Post by larryw »

Exactly what Jim said above, if it has a shank it will most likely shoot better with a chex, but it Is not necessary.
+1 on the shake & bake method with the AS beads..
A day late & A dollar short? Story of my life +guns
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by Ranch Dog »