Question regarding Deluxe Quick Trim

Case Length Gauge/Holder, Deluxe Quick Trim Case Trimmer, and Zip Trim. Includes Length Gauge ball & stud.
jrhmem01
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Question regarding Deluxe Quick Trim

Post by jrhmem01 »

30 Carbine.jpg
This is my first attempt at trimming using the Deluxe Quick trim with power attachment.

Does the outside chamfer appear excessive? 30 Carbine brass.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
GasGuzzler
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter

Re: Question regarding Deluxe Quick Trim

Post by GasGuzzler »

Your photo is very blurry so it's hard to tell. In my experience, brass that is well over-length to start needs trimmed a little then de-burr then trimmed a little more than de-burr instead of trimming all the excess at once.
__________________________________________________________________________________________
I've always been crazy but it's kept me from goin' insane.
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

Post by Ranch Dog »

Same here, the photo is too blurry to see what you are asking about. Any chance for a better photo?
Michael
jrhmem01
Supporter
Supporter

Post by jrhmem01 »

Will try another photo, thanks
Macd
Supporter
Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Post by Macd »

I may be the odd man out but I have never chamfered the outside edge of a case mouth. Chamfer on the inside edge is meant to ease bullet seating and prevent shaving or scratching the bullet. The outside turning is just enough to clean up any burrs left by the trimming process. If you can see a bevel then something is wrong with your setup. Same is true if the case mouth edge is noticeably thinned by inside chamfering.
GasGuzzler
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter

Post by GasGuzzler »