Confused New Rifle Loader

50 BMG, Collet, and steel reloading dies plus the Factory Crimp Dies. Also, discussions concerning the Deluxe, Pacesetter, and RGB die sets.
Skinnedknuckles
My Press Choice: Turret

Confused New Rifle Loader

Post by Skinnedknuckles »

Please help a new rifle loader. I'm a lee fan and have been reloading for pistols for a few years. I'm just getting into rifle loading for .223 Rem and .35 Rem and I have a question about Lee full length sizing dies.

On their web site, they list a PaceSetter 3-Die Set Steel Rifle and a Pacesetter 3-Die Set. On the description for the Steel set, they say "Same features as our premium carbide sets, except the case must be lubricated." Are the Pacesetter 3-Die Sets (and the Ultimate Rifle 4-Die Set) the premium carbide sets they mention? The instructions for my Ultimate Rifle 4-Die Set make a real point of the need for lubrication, and in the Lee FAQ section (in a 2011 post), they say "We do not make rifle dies in carbide due to the bottlenecks of the cases. It would be too difficult to cut carbide to the correct dimensions, and would need to have carbide run the entire length of the die which would be cost prohibitive. Even with the carbide, you would still need to lubricate the cases." What is the real story?

For .223 Rem I plan to neck size only except for brass that I didn't shoot in my rifle, and it seems I don't really need to lube those cases in any case (do I?). I do plan to full length resize my .35 Rem brass and for ease of effort will be lubing them.
akuser47
Moderator & Supporter
Moderator & Supporter
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Re: Confused New Rifle Loader

Post by akuser47 »

I do not believe either 3 die set come with the neck sizer. The lee deluxe in .308 and in .223 come with the neck sizers as I fire form my brass I have both those sets in the deluxe. I'm not sure on what the differences are on the two 3 dies sets.
Live Free,Ride Free, Or Die Fighting, For The Right, To do So!