ABL pro case feeder problem

The Pro 1000, 4000, and the Six-Pack Pro presses. We also include the "Legacy" progressive presses; the Load-Master, Auto Breech Lock Pro
G.A.Custer
My Press Choice: Turret

ABL pro case feeder problem

Post by G.A.Custer »

I have been using my Auto Breech Lock Pro for several months now and generally speaking it has been working well.
I have loaded 32 H&R, 30 Carbine, 32 Auto and now I am loading 380 ACP. My most common problem, and it seems to be very much worse with the 380 is that when the case slider pushes the cartridge towards the shell plate, the case hits the outer edge of said shell plate and stops. Then I have to stop everything and fiddle with the empty case to get it into the shell plate. This happen about 90 % of the time. Maybe it is just the nature of the 380 casing but I have had this problem to a degree on the other cartridges that I have loaded.
I am hoping some one else has found a fix for this particular problem.
Another occasional problem is that the spring that pulls the case slider back to it's start position sometimes disengages at the top where it hooks onto the press.

Thanks for any help. :)
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

Re: ABL pro case feeder problem

Post by Ranch Dog »

Welcome to the forum! Someone should be able to offer some help. I don't have the press, I'm a turret & Load-Master guy.
Michael
G.A.Custer

Post by G.A.Custer »

Okay, I took a good look at my ABL press and I believe I know what is causing the problem. Part #PR3692, 3 cavity Family Mold is what LEE calls the part in question.