Aluminum or steel press

All “C” and “O” type Lee presses.
Wheeljack
My Press Choice: Single Stage

Aluminum or steel press

Post by Wheeljack »

I've be using the aluminum press #90588, Challenger. I'm looking at the steel Breach Lock Classic #90999. What is the advantages of the steel press over the aluminum. Flexing, wear on threads, precision? What are the things that would make me want to buy the steel model? They look pretty much the same. Thanks
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

Re: Aluminum or steel press

Post by Ranch Dog »

Image Image

I've been using the Breech Lock Challenger press for quite a few years, and I would have a tough time justifying the additional expense of the Classic Cast if I were to replace it. The Challenger press has been around for a very long time, with or without Breech Lock, I use mine without issue.

It even took the old Automator and functions as a progressive without issue!

Notice the handle; I shorten the length to provide a comfortable stroke resistance for whatever operation the press is involved in. The frame has a very large opening, and not everything needs to go the full travel. For instance, bullet sizing. The ram only needs to move back and forth about two to three inches so while doing that I decrease the throw of the handle as far as I'm comfortable with. You end up with a very short stroke which moves through the task quickly. Could be important if you are moving through a hundred of whatever. Of course, you can do this with the Classic Cast as well.

Yikes, just looked on Titan and the difference is about $41! Couldn't do it myself, that extra would buy a set of dies of any number of things.
Michael
mikld
Founding Member & Supporter
My Press Choice: Turret

Post by mikld »