9mm luger primer issues

All “C” and “O” type Lee presses.
franklin73
My Press Choice: Single Stage

9mm luger primer issues

Post by franklin73 »

Ok, so I'm VERY new to all this. Just started removing primers from some brass yesterday. The first 300 went very well. The primers popped out just like the videos. My wife wanted to help, so I said give it a try. After just TWO pieces of brass she said that's too much work and went back upstairs. Well, here's the strange part---when I started removing the primers again, over half of the ones I tried, nearly 100 out of 200 the primer did NOT come out all the way and I had to re-set the old primer in order to get the brass out of the shell holder. I tried multiple times to get the die to work on these shells but nothing. What's going on? There were no problems before my wife wanted to help. Did she put a jink on me or what??? Anyone else have issue like this? Is there something I'm doing wrong?
bayou
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Re: 9mm luger primer issues

Post by bayou »

Usually, when a primer doesn't pop out all of way, but only partially, it's usually due to my die backing out of the press just a shade. So, just screw it back all the way down.

If that's not the problem, I then set the primer rod a bit deeper to assure it's deep enough to fully pop the primers.

Try those steps and let us know how things go.

I don't think it's your wife - I haven't met a press yet that didn't like a feminine touch....! :)

Bayou
bayou
NRA Life Member
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

Post by Ranch Dog »

I was typing a reply when Bayou responded so to add a bit more about the die, make sure it is set to the instructions to include a check that the base of the die is fully seated against the shell holder. Sometimes the die must be turned in a slight bit more after it is tested with a case. There should be any gap above the shell holder. Here is what I was going to reply...