Benefit of max COL?

Discussions covering the components and techniques of reloading for your long gun.
galaxieman
My Press Choice: Hand Press

Benefit of max COL?

Post by galaxieman »

I am new to reloading and have heard a lot about COL and am wondering if there is an accuracy advantage to maxing the COL. Let say that your particular rifle has a deeper throat and can handle longer COL. is it best to have the bullet as close to the rifling as possible? or is some "jump" best?
I realize that pressure is lower if it can jump but does that hurt accuracy and or velocity?
Or is is really just part of a much more complicated formula?
I'm Confused? :?
Ranch Dog
Site Admin
Site Admin
My Press Choice: Progressive

Re: Benefit of max COL?

Post by Ranch Dog »

galaxieman wrote:I'm Confused? :?
No reason to be. In a perfect world, a chamber cut to the SAAMI spec for the SAAMI specified bullet is going to be a perfect fit. Even with "this" perfect fit you throw in the variables related to ignition, which is called initial start pressure, variables in the very changes you mentioned; rises in pressure with contact at the start or a lower pressure with no contact followed by a "spike" in pressure with the initial contact. All this affects the bullets accuracy performance to some degree or another. This is one of the items that many reloaders enjoy investigating. It is no different than examining the accuracy performance in difference of a few grains of powder. Just take detailed notes and explore what is best for your firearm.

That is a nutshell view but here are the caveats of cartridge overall length. Using an OAL shorter than that recommended for the data you are using will result in cartridge pressures greater than stated. Your firearm might dictate the OAL; typically the max is a design limitation to keep the rifle compact but shorter OAL might not feed well due to the ramp on the arm.